Beauty

Good Skin…Good Make Up

I have always taken extremely good care of my skin. Luckily for me, my mother has always brought my up to treat my skin just like you would any other organ, with care and respect. Never to stay in the sun too long, wear sun cream every day (even in the winter) and give it the proper vitamins and minerals it needs to stay looking healthy and fresh everyday.

In light of this, I recently had a HUGE epiphany. I was having a make up lesson at the Bobbi Brown counter in York, with the lovely Steph, and we were chatting about the type of skin care to use underneath my regular make up – and I realised the difference between the make up I had done that morning with little to no skin care underneath – compared with the make up she had done with immaculate skin care under the work she had done.

So, I thought I would share with you some of my favourite skin care products, and share with you when and how I use them, and what they are useful for.

  1. 815324

You will be surprised to hear that my first shared product is NOT Bobbi Brown! SHOCK! This is the Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant – which retails at £41.75 on their website. It is a gentle, rice-based exfoliating powder which activates upon contact with water, releasing Papain, Salicylic Acid and Rice Enzymes that micro-exfoliate dead cells, and leaves skin smoother and brighter. I use this every night before I go to bed, before cleanser and moisturiser.

2. bb_prod_E3NP_415x415_0.jpg

My alternative to the Microfoliant, is the Bobbi Brown Buffing Grains for Face. This does a very similar job to the Dermalogica product, only instead of mixing it with water, you mix it with your daily cleanser. This retails at £32.

3. bb_prod_EG1701_415x415_1

My next products, are really two-in-one. They are the Soothing Cleansing Milk and Soothing Cleansing Oil. The oil is a special blend of Jasmine Flower Extract and botanical oils, which dissolves surface impurities and makeup without disrupting skin’s natural balance. The milk is a blend of Sweet Almond, Jojoba and Avocado Oils, it effectively detoxifies and cleanses skin—removing surface impurities and makeup and purifying pores. They retail at £32 each.

4. bb_prod_E1E7_415x415_0

This product is the Bobbi Brown Intensive Skin Supplement. This is an advanced, multi-benefit serum that improves skin’s appearance. This product includes; White Birch Extract which reduces the look of fine, dry lines, while Grape Extract helps clarify and brighten the complexion. I found that after just four weeks’ use, skin looks firmer, smoother, more even-toned and radiant. This retails at £46.

5. bb_prod_E65Y_415x415_0

Bobbi Brown’s Hydrating Eye Cream. This is a quick-absorbing eye cream with moisturisers that melt onto the skin. It includes Enriched Mineral Water Blend to hydrate, balance and revive skin. Aloe Vera and Witch Hazel extract comfort, Jojoba Seed, Avocado Oil, and Squalane condition. This retails at £33.

6. bb_prod_E1LM_415x415_0

This is Bobbi Brown’s Vitamin Enriched Face Base, it is a a primer plus moisturiser which is amazing for smooth makeup application. I use this both in the evening and in the morning, before applying my make up. Retails at £42.

7. beauty-trends-blogs-daily-beauty-reporter-2016-01-22-bobbi-brown-face-masks

These are the holy grail. The Bobbi Brown Face Masks. There are three in the set; the Instant Detox Mask  which provides a deep, thorough cleaning. Like a deep cleanse for skin—this mask removes impurities, pollutants and ex-cess oil from pores without stripping skin. The Radiance Boost Mask; an instant boost for glowing skin, this exfoliating mask gently smoothes, re-texturises and softens the feel of skin to reveal a more even, fresh-faced glow. Finally, the Skin Nourish Mask; Enriched with Coral Grass and Green Algae powerful moisture magnets this super creamy yet lightweight mask instantly quenches dry skin with sustained moisturisation for a smoother, plumper look. I use these weekly, and set aside some time to do them just before bed. These retail at £99 for the set.

So there you have it! I do not use each of these products every day – but they do have their place within my routine. Looking after your skin, really is the secret to looking healthy within your face. It truly is worth the time, money and effort!

Leave a Reply

